Pierre the Penguin book cover

illustrated by Laura Regan

0

January 18th is Penguin Awareness Day! We will celebrate by reading about one of the Academy's most famous residents, Pierre the penguin!

Classrooms everywhere are invited to join this FREE webchat!

Dates: Friday, January 18, 2019
This program will be broadcasted three times on this date
Times: 9:10am PT (12:10pm ET), 10:10am PT (1:10pm ET) & 11:10am PT (2:10pm ET)
Duration: 30 minutes
Price: Free!
Target Audience: TK - 2nd grade
Interactivity Options: Teacher using a Chat Box

What happened during this Special Live Event

In this 30-minute program, students will read along with an Academy Educator the real life story of Pierre the Penguin by Jean Marzollo.

Throughout the reading time, we will pause to make observations, predict what would happen next, and think about how we would help Pierre. After reading the book, the students will dive into our penguin colony via our web cameras. At the end of the program, we will explore what it is like to be a penguin by waddling and swimming like one.

This program will be interactive in nature!

Technology required

During these web chats, students will be able to see and hear the Academy science educator, and teachers will be able to enter comments and questions into a text-based chat window

To participate you must have the following technology available:

  • Desktop, laptop computer, or tablet
  • Strong internet connection; a wired connection is preferable
  • An updated version of the free application Zoom installed on your computer or tablet
  • If you have a large class we also recommend having a projector and speakers

Groups are limited to no more than 75 students and no more than 2 classes for a single connection.

Check out what teachers said about last year's program!

"My students loved seeing the live cameras and having their names/questions mentioned by the educator. They also loved learning about Pierre the Penguin, since we'd done some background prep on penguins."
-1st graders at Marsh Elementary School

 

"In science, we learn about how habitats and organisms go together (certain organisms live in certain habitats), so this was directly tied to that."
-2nd Grade teacher from Baker Elementary School

Couldn't join us on January 18, 2019? Check out other Special Live Events or our one-on-one Waddle Like a Penguin program.

Grades: Kindergarten - 2nd Grade
Program Duration: 30 minutes
Price: Free
Time Slots: 9:10 am, 10:10 am, 11:10 am