© Leo Reynolds

This award, named in honor of Michael Faraday (1791–1867), the English chemist and physicist who is known for his pioneering experiments in electricity and magnetism. Through lectures and letters, Faraday led people of all ages to a greater understanding of the natural scientific laws that govern us all. The Faraday Science Communicator Award will recognize and reward an individual or organization that has inspired and elevated the public's interest in and appreciation of science.

Faraday Science Communicator Award

Eligibility: Individual—The individual will not be a classroom teacher, but will work in, or have developed a compatible setting for science communication: i.e., museum, nature center, zoo, state park, aquarium, radio, television, internet, or other science-rich institutions or media. The individual may also be connected to a science setting through his or her involvement with civic organizations and child-education facilities: e.g., preK child-development centers, 4-H clubs, Girl and Boy Scouts, Girls and Boys Clubs of America, and so on. Organizational—The organization will facilitate and provide exemplary opportunities for science communication to the public. The organization will desire to instill in the public an appreciation for science through communication efforts at the local, state, and national levels.

Award: Awardee will be honored at the Awards Banquet during the NSTA National Conference on Science Education; the awardee receives an all-expense-paid trip (up to $2,500) to attend the Conference; all awardees will receive recognition in NSTA publications and will be given an opportunity to participate in a poster session during the conference

Share This