Illustration of Chromodoris magnifica, by James Davidson from original artwork by Rachel Diaz-Bastin © California Academy of Sci

2019 Annual Fellows Gathering
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
An evening featuring a lecture, dinner, and special recognitions

Nominated by their peers and elected by the California Academy of Sciences’ Board of Trustees, Academy Fellows are a group of over 450 distinguished scientists who have made notable contributions to science. This year, the Academy is pleased to welcome 14 new members to this illustrious group, and will present the Fellows' Distinguished Award and the annual Fellows’ Medal—the group’s highest honor—to an exceptional member.

Purchase tickets here

Event Details

5:15 pm
Doors open

5:30 pm
Mixer and exclusive access to the new Skin exhibit

6:30 pm
Annual Meeting and Lecture:

Climate Change and Land: Next Steps
Dr. Inez Fung
Professor of Atmospheric Science
University of California, Berkeley

8 pm
Dinner buffet, award ceremony, and presentation of new Fellows

9:30 pm
Event concludes

Complimentary parking validation in the Music Concourse Garage.


2019 Fellows & Medalists

Fellows Medal Recipient

  • Inez Fung, Professor of Atmospheric Science, Department of Earth & Planetary Science, University of California, Berkeley

Distinguished Service Award:

  • Terrence Gosliner, Senior Curator, Department of Invertebrate Zoology, California Academy of Sciences


  • Katharyn Boyer, Professor of Biology, Estuary & Ocean Science Center, San Francisco State University
  • William (Bill) Dietrich, Professor, University of California, Berkeley
  • Lauren Esposito, Assistant Curator and Schlinger Chair of Arachnology, California Academy of Sciences
  • James W. Hicks, Professor and Chair, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of California, Irvine
  • Rebecca Johnson, Co-Director, Citizen Science, California Academy of Sciences
  • Scott Loarie, Co-Director, iNaturalist, California Academy of Sciences
  • Emanual Michael Maverakis, Professor, University of California, Davis
  • Nathalie Nagalingum, Associate Curator & McAllister Chair of Botany, California Academy of Sciences
  • Cristián Samper, President and CEO, Wildlife Conservation Society
  • Anneila Sargent, Ira S. Bowen Professor of Astronomy Emeritus, California Institute of Technology
  • Alice Shapley, Professor and Vice Chair for Astronomy and Astrophysics, UCLA Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Michelle Trautwein, Schlinger Chair of Diptera, California Academy of Sciences
  • Neal Williams, Professor and Chancellor's Fellow, University of California, Davis
  • Carl Wunsch, Visiting Professor of Physical Oceanography and Climate, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Harvard University

Contact the Fellows Office

Please help us keep our records up-to-date: Complete and return this form to make any changes to your contact information.

Direct all other questions and inquiries to:

Fellows Office
California Academy of Sciences
55 Music Concourse Drive
San Francisco, CA 94118

(415) 379-5284